Maryland Prelicensing Course Frequently Asked Questions
Is your prelicensing course the one I need in order to sit for my real estate salesperson's licensing exam? Has your course been officially approved?
Yes, the 60-hour Maryland Real Estate Principles and Practice course is the course that you need to complete and pass in order to sit for the State licensing exam. The Maryland Higher Education Commission and the Maryland Real Estate Commission have both approved our online course.
Are there any prerequisites for becoming a real estate agent in Maryland?
Yes, you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or a G.E.D. You must fax us a copy of this document when you enroll in the course. If you cannot locate your high school diploma or G.E.D., we will also accept a copy of your college degree or your high school/college transcripts. We accept high school diplomas from other countries, as well.
How do I register for the course?
You can register for the course through the RECampus website. Please download our Enrollment Agreement Form, which needs to be completed, signed and faxed or emailed to our office, along with a copy of your high school diploma (or any proof of high school completion) at the time of your registration. (If you do not have access to your high school/college diploma and you need to request transcripts, please note that information on your enrollment form. We must have the proof of graduation in our office before you take your final proctored exam.) You'll create a username and password on the registration page and you can pay for the course with any major credit card.
How much does the course cost? Does it include textbooks?
The cost of the course is $250 and it does not include textbooks. You can, however, purchase the textbook used in the course through the RECampus Bookstore. The first half of the course is based on the book, Modern Real Estate Practice, but you do not need to purchase this book in order to complete the course. The second half of the course focuses on the Maryland Code, which can be viewed for free at the Maryland Real Estate Commission's website.
What is the process for completing the online prelicensing course?
Each course unit includes exams that you can take multiple times in order to achieve a passing score of 80%. You must pass the unit exam and meet the unit's minimum time requirement before the next unit will open. When you have completed every unit, you will receive access to the practice exam. The practice exam does not count toward your final grade, but you must take it until you achieve a passing score of 75% or higher. After you succesfully complete the practice exam with an 75% or higher score, the Director will register you for the proctored final exam. Your proctored final exam must be taken within 45 days of satisfactory completion of course and practice exam requirements. You must take our 100 question final exam in person. We schedule exams twice each month in Timonium, MD. In order to pass the course, you must score 70% or higher on the final exam and you are given two chances to pass it. After you pass the final exam, our Director will give you the paperwork you'll need to submit in order to sit for the State licensing exam.
I have some knowledge of real estate. Do I need to spend the full 60 hours in the course or can I finish it in less time?
All students must spend the full 60 hours in the course, as mandated by Maryland State Law. Each unit of reading material has a specific number of minutes associated with it. You must meet the minute requirements for each unit before you can complete the course.
How is my time spent in the course monitored?
As you read the course material, the course keeps track of the minutes spent in each unit. Each section of the unit is locked until the minimum minute requirement is met in the previous section. A countdown clock appears at the top of your Dashboard to let you know the time you have remaining in the course. To view how many minutes you have spent in a unit, click on the bar graph icon on the far, right-hand side of the unit name.
How much time do I have to complete the course?
You have 90 days from your registration date to complete the course and the online practice exam. No extensions will be given under any circumstances. Please plan your time accordingly so that you will have access to your course after you have finished in order to study for your final exam. Once the course has expired, it will not be re-opened for study purposes.
Do you have a maximum student limit?
Yes. As of now we are only allowed to have 70 students actively taking the course. If we have reached that limit, the course will automatically become unavailable to purchase.
Can I access the course at any time of day?
Yes. The course is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You can spend as much or as little time in the course on any day. Please note that after 10 minutes of inactivity on any page, you will automatically be logged out of the course.
Can I complete the course using a wireless (WiFi) connection?
A wireless internet connection is not recommended for any of our online courses. If your WiFi loses connection with the RECampus servers for even a nanosecond, the course will log you out. Hard-wired internet connections are the ideal method for taking our online course.
When I logged into my course, I was asked a security question, but l mistyped my answer and now I am locked out of my course. What do I do?
You are given two chances to enter the correct answer for your security question. If you fail to provide the correct answer twice, you will be locked out of your course and you will need to contact RECampus Tech Support at 888-213-5124. The school does not have access to your password or security question answers, so you must call Tech Support if you are locked out.
Whom should I contact if I have questions during my online course?
Please call our office at 1-800-854-0950 or send an email to email@example.com. For technical questions, please contact RECampus Technical Support at 888-213-5124.